top of page

EdAdvance awarded $8.7M U.S. Department of Ed. grant to increase school-based mental health services

Abby Peklo, Director of Grants & Special Programs at EdAdvance; Karen Reddington-Hughes, State Representative, 66th District; Dr. Judith Palmer, Director of Social Emotional Learning and Mental Health; Dr. Jeffrey Kitching, Executive Director of EdAdvance; Cindy Harrison, State Representative; 69th District; and Esther Bobowick, Education Consultant at EdAdvance attend press event about school-based mental health grant award.

EdAdvance has been awarded an $8.7 million U.S. Department of Education grant to increase school-based mental health services in 30 schools, grades K-12, in Northwestern CT over the next five years. This multi-pronged approach aims to increase the number of credentialed school-based mental health providers and service in small rural schools in northwestern Connecticut.

“EdAdvance’s mission has always been to promote the success of school districts and communities. We’ve been given a unique opportunity to have a profound impact on the well-being of students and schools in our region and are so pleased to lead this initiative,” shared Dr. Jeffrey Kitching, Executive Director of EdAdvance.

EdAdvance is currently seeking to recruit and hire 15, diverse credentialed School Based Mental Health Professionals to provide mental health services at schools in 20 communities. The Regional Educational Service Center is prioritizing a competitive salary, health insurance, life insurance, paid sick, and personal time for benefit eligible hires. Special benefits include up to $5,000 annually for tuition loan repayment or tuition reimbursement; up to $2,000 for relocation or travel stipend; and professional development opportunities, including National and State professional conferences.

Schools that will be participating in the initiative include:

Barkhamsted Elementary

Bethlehem Elementary

Booth Free

Botelle Elementary

Colebrook Consolidated

Cornwall Consolidated

Explorations Charter School

Goshen Center

Mary P. Hinsdale

Housatonic Valley Regional High School

Kellogg Elementary

Kent Center

Litchfield Center

Litchfield Intermediate

Mitchell Elementary

James Morris

Nonnewaug High School

North Canaan Elementary

Northwestern Regional High School

Northwestern Regional Middle School

Pearson School

Salisbury Central

Sharon Center

Shepaug Valley School

The Burnham School

Wamogo Regional High School

Wamogo Regional Middle School

Warren Elementary

Washington Primary

Woodbury Middle School

Mental health professionals can learn more about working at EdAdvance and apply to the School Based Mental Health Professionals position here.

bottom of page